When you’re charged with a criminal offense in the state of Minnesota, you need an experienced criminal law attorney at your side.  Local attorney Carol Mayer provides her clients personal, professional service and years of criminal law experience.

A Skilled DUI / DWI Lawyer

Although some people facing DWI charges choose not to hire an attorney, this can be a big mistake considering the consequences of having a DWI on your record. Additionally, if you want to challenge the charge, a license revocation or car forfeiture certain steps must be followed within very short deadlines. If the steps are not followed exactly, or the deadline is missed, you will lose that chance to try and keep your license or car. An experienced DWI lawyer such as Carol J. Mayer will not only get you through the sometimes complicated and confusing court proceedings, she will thoroughly evaluate your case, make every potential legal challenge, and work hard to get you the best possible result based on the circumstances of your unique case.

What you need to know about DUI / DWI Laws in Minnesota:

In Minnesota there are four degrees (levels) of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) charges, also known as DWI, DUI or Drunk Driving. The lowest level is Fourth Degree Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), which is considered a misdemeanor crime. If you are convicted of a misdemeanor level DWI you face up to 90 days in jail and payment of up to $1,000 in fines. Third and Second Degree Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) charges are considered gross misdemeanor crimes. If you are convicted of a gross misdemeanor level DWI you face up to one year in jail and payment of up to $3,000 in fines. First Degree Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is the most serious level and is considered a felony crime. If you are convicted of a felony level DWI you face up to seven years in prison and up to $14,000 in fines.

Along with the possibility of jail time and fines, a person charged with or convicted of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) will face having their driver’s license suspended or revoked. For a first time misdemeanor level Fourth Degree DWI, a person’s license is suspended for 90 days, though it can be reduced to 30 days in certain circumstances. The length of the license suspension for gross misdemeanor DWIs can vary. However, 180 days is the minimum, and the most common. Lastly, under certain circumstances the police can take your car under what is called “forfeiture.”

Assault Charges

What You Need to Know About Assault Charges in Minnesota:

A criminal conviction for assault / domestic assault carries with it serious consequences. First, there are the obvious consequences of possible jail time and fines. Second, there are the not so obvious consequences such as the fact the conviction will appear on your criminal history with the BCA (Bureau of Criminal Apprehension), which employers and landlords look at to decide whether you will be hired or allowed to rent a certain apartment. There are many jobs in the State of Minnesota that people who have a conviction for assault / domestic assault on their record are not allowed to do, such as nursing. Also, if convicted of an assault against a family or household member, that is considered a domestic assault and your ability to carry firearms in both the State of Minnesota as well as other states will be prohibited. If caught doing so you can be convicted of an even more serious crime. This means that if you like to hunt, whether in Minnesota or any place else, you will be prohibited by law from doing so or face further criminal charges.

There are several levels / degrees of assault in Minnesota. The lowest level is Fifth Degree Assault, and first time Domestic Assault. These are misdemeanor level charges for which the person charged faces up to 90 days in jail and payment of up to $1,000 in fines. Fourth, Third and Second Degree Assaults are typically considered gross misdemeanor level crimes for which the person charged faces up to one year in jail and payment of up to $3,000 in fines. The highest level is First Degree Assault, which is considered a felony, and the person charged faces prison time and fines much higher than $3,000.

Possession / Sale of Drugs or Controlled Substances

What You Should Know About Drug Charges in Minnesota:

In Minnesota there are five different degrees (levels) of criminal charges related to the possession and/or sale of controlled substances (drugs). The least serious drug related charge involves possessing a small amount of marijuana in a motor vehicle, which is a petty misdemeanor and can usually be handled with payment of a fine. The most serious drug related charge involves First Degree Possession / Sale of a Controlled Substance, which is a felony and carries with it a prison sentence of up to 30 years, and payment of up to $1,000,000 (one million) in fines.

The level / degree of the crime charged depends primarily on the type of substance found in the person’s possession, how much of the substance they had, and whether or not they were possessing it with the intent to sell it to others. Some of the most common types of drugs involved in controlled substance criminal charges include marijuana, cocaine, methamphetamine (“meth,” “crystal meth,” “speed”), crack and Heroin. Methamphetamine is an example of “the most serious” drug listed. If you possess 25 grams or more of Meth, you could be looking at 30 years in prison and a $1,000,000 fine.

Theft / Burglary

What You Should Know About Theft and Burglary Law in Minnesota:

Theft related crimes involve taking (or keeping) something that does not belong to you with the intention of never returning the item to its rightful owner, such as shoplifting. Fraud related crimes involve an element of trickery, such as tricking the county into giving you welfare benefits when you do not really qualify. Burglary related crimes usually involve going into a building (like someone’s home) without the owner’s permission, and with no legal right to do so. A person convicted of any one of these types of crimes will likely be required to pay fines, restitution, and perhaps serve some jail / prison time. Beyond these immediate consequences, a conviction for theft, fraud or burglary will have serious and long lasting effects on a person’s ability to get a job or even rent an apartment.

Carol Mayer’s Minnesota Criminal Law Background:

Attorney Carol Mayer

Carol J. Mayer has the experience and determination necessary to get you through the sometimes complicated and confusing court proceedings that surround criminal charges.  Carol is a former prosecutor who has handled thousands of criminal cases involving everything from minor traffic violations through first degree murder.   Carol understands the laws related to these charges, and knows how to attack the prosecutor’s case in order to obtain the best possible result for her client.  Carol will thoroughly evaluate the evidence in your case, make every potential legal challenge, and take the case through trial if necessary.

Call Carol today for a free consultation regarding the facts of your case and learn how she can help you achieve the justice you deserve.